Building My Home

“A wise women builds her home, but a foolish woman tears it down with her own hands” Proverbs 14:1 NLT

Two different people, a wise woman and a foolish woman taking on two different tasks: the wise one is building while the foolish one is tearing down.

As I began to meditate, analyze and pull apart my aspirations and motives as a wife and mother I found myself being challenged by this simple but profound verse.

I had to be real with myself, and ask which woman was I? To be preserved as a wise woman seems to be nonpareil. On the contrary being observed as a foolish woman is unspeakable. People don’t walk around taking pride in how foolish they are as a woman (and I say that lightly because some may, but in reference to a godly woman, it’s not admired).

I was curious to know what the all knowing World Wide Web aka google had to say are some characteristics of a natural home builder, one who builds houses for a living. I picked out the top five: organized, persistent, confident, team player, and eager to learn. Immediately I started to examine the characteristics listed to some of my strengths. Well it’s interesting to me that as a home builder (a wise woman) I can learn a few things from the home builder’s characteristics (someone who actually builds houses).

What I’ve learned is that home building, the wise way, isn’t so much about the materialistic things, but more so about the stance and integrity of the home builder. The wise women is intentional, fierce, and proactive.

“Build yourself, before you start building”

With those five characteristics I wrote down a few pointers to help build your home:

Organized- be intentional to efficiently manage your schedule
Persistent- be a woman of prayer
Confident- know who YOU are as the woman of your home
Team player- As it refers to a wife: be a helpmate with a joyful heart.
Eager to learn- consistently push yourself to study and be knowledgeable

With that I chose to take some steps towards being intentional on building my home. I wrote down a few declarations that I will pray everyday to set a tone in my house that will allow me to build with wisdom from the Lord.

Declarations:
This home has the atmosphere of heaven;
This home is full of joy
This home is full of peace
Everyone in this home is healthy.
Today my mind is sound and I will be bold and confident in who God made me to be.

“For the LORD gives [skillful and godly] wisdom; From His mouth come knowledge and understanding.”
‭‭PROVERBS‬ ‭2:6‬ ‭AMP‬‬

With love,

Marlene

Leave a Reply

